Through My Black Eyes…

Through my black eyes
 I watch my children traded for reflections
 My rich soil discovered, misused and exploited
 A new voice adopted, the old ones now begging to be heard
 My children are all victims
 Stripped off their roots and given a new religion
 Suffered for days turned years
 Lips sealed, so eyes spoke
 Chained in the deepest parts
 Singing songs in the fields
 Bodies defiled, scarred and torn
 Another group of Israelites in Egypt
 But they stood tall and fought
 To gain the prize of freedom
 And still fighting to show the world,
 Our black matters.
                    -Anesii💋

5 thoughts on “Through My Black Eyes…

Leave a Reply

